Riverdale ~Season 1~

Ah yes… ANOTHER murder mystery show. Don’t worry, this one is worth watching!

Rating: 5/5

Riverdale is about a group of teens who try to solve the murder case of Jason Blossom, the son of one of the wealthiest and powerful families in Riverdale. Everyone is a suspect, from parents to teens to even siblings, and no one is safe from the wrath of the Blossom family who is out to punish the murderer of the heir to the Blossom business.

You might expect this show to solely focus on the main conflict; however, it doesn’t it. Romance, drama, and mystery all brew up in this town, and as character grow closer to each other, dark secrets begin to unfold…

Image result for riverdale

This show reminded me of Big Little Lies, which is also a murder mystery, and I actually didn’t want to watch this show at first, because I thought it would be super cliche (it kind of is). But charmingjulia was actually the one who convinced me to watch it 🙂 Even though BLL and Riverdale are alike in a lot of ways, they are quite different from one another. What I liked about Riverdale was the fact that there was romance (it’s my favorite genre… I’m a sucker for a good rom-com too) and that it dealt with a group of teens in high school. Since this show does revolve around high school students, it also shows the many stereotypical groups that are found in high school, which I found to be SO relatable. There’s the jocks, the outcasts, the nerds, the cheerleaders, the musicians, etc. Now, just because these groups are shown in this series, doesn’t mean that any of these groups are belittled, like in real life. As a matter of fact, these groups bring something special to the high school in this television series.

Celebrating diversity is another big component in this show. There’s a lot of character that are people of color and are of different sexual orientation, which I loved. Riverdale makes sure that this component is a part of the show as well, and it’s incorporated into most of the plot.

Image result for josie and the pussycats riverdale

**Spoiler Alert Below!!**

I personally loved all the characters in this show, but I have to say that Archie is my favorite character so far. It WAS Jughead at first, because c’mon… it’s Cole Sprouse, but towards the end of Season 1 after Archie saves Cheryl, my love for Archie just sky rockets… plus he’s super cute 😉 My thoughts for Cherly have changed as well, I don’t hate her as much as I did in the beginning. I just feel like she’s changed for the better once she found out her family’s big dark secret. I also have a hunch that Betty is going to go crazy in Season 2, which I am honestly super excited about, because I love Betty’s character. Watching the character development is going be to ICONIC. And although I love Jughead with Betty, I’m secretly hoping Betty and Archie start something soon, and I think we could see glimpses and hints of something towards the end of the season as well. Finally, that season finale with Fred…. wow. Just wow..

I’m super psyched for season 2. That is all!

What are you hoping for season 2? Who’s your favorite character? Let me know your thoughts!

~Sofia

Images found here and here

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

