Big Little Lies ~Spoiler-Free~

Rating: 4.5/5

I literally just finished this show 5 minutes ago and decided that it was definitely worth writing a post over.

Big Little Lies is a mini-series on HBO with only 7 episodes (as of season 1). It stars Nicole Kidman, Reese Witherspoon, Shailene Woodley, Adam Scott, Alexander Skarsgard, and Zoe Kravitz (a truly iconic cast if you ask me). It’s about a detective that’s trying to solve a murder case. The whole show is basically a flashback of everything that has happened up to the point of the murder.

Image result for big little lies

The show starts from when Jane Chapman (Woodley) moves to Monterey with her son, Ziggy. She meets mothers Madeline Mackenzie (Witherspoon) and Celeste Wright (Kidman), and the three of them become a friendly trio. However, the show isn’t revolving around a typical plot like the “adventures” of the three, instead it focuses on the lives of these very different characters who lead very different lives with very different intentions — which all lead up to the murder of a certain somebody. It’s also SUPER INTENSE and handles a lot of issues that marriages and relationships deal with.

Basically, this show is the adult version of Riverdale (it’s not a bad thing, I actually really like Riverdale). Big Little Lies does contain a lot of adult language and sex/nudity, so if either of those does not float your boat, you have been warned here! I finished this show in less than 24 hours, because it was so addicting. I found myself on the edge of my seat during the last episode because everything finally unravels. I had no idea who the killer was when I first started the show, so I sitting in my room analyzing all these characters and what their motives could have been. The ending itself, I thought was pretty satisfying. You find out everything but there are still one or two questions I was asking by the end of it.

Image result for big little lies

Honestly, I didn’t really want to watch this show at first, because there are already so many murder mystery shows out there, I wasn’t very convinced on why this show would be worth watching. But I finally gave in because of its ratings on IMDB, and I’m glad I did. Big Little Lies  is definitely worth the watch, and I highly highly highly recommend it to anyone who loves drama!

~Sofia

 

images found:

featured image

first image

second and third images

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

