What Maisie Knew ~Movie Review~

This will honestly be one of my favorite movies. What Maisie Knew is a movie starring Julianne Moore and Alexander Skarsgard (two very exceptional actors that I adore). The plot is basically about this little girl, Maisie, who is stuck in the middle of a custody battle of her not-so caring parents. Her mother, who is a singer, and her father, who is an art dealer, are always busy with their jobs, so Maisie gets stuck with her nannies Margo and Lincoln, whom she eventually warms up to. (Side Note: Lincoln is my favorite character and he deserves the world!!) Even though the conflict of the plot is focused on little Maisie’s parents, the plot goes deeper into the lives of the characters who may seem minor (the nannies), but eventually have a greater role/influence in Maisie’s life.

What I found so interesting about this movie was that the entire film focuses on Maisie’s perspective and follows her around. Since the audience is only following Maisie’s point of view, the audience only knows what Maisie knows; hence, the title. In other movies, we, as audience members, get to dwell into other characters’ lives, which all adds to the plot. I personally really liked this one-point perspective in What Maisie Knew, because I really had to pay attention in order to fully understand what was happening not only between the parents but also between the nannies and the parents. Plus, Maisie is literally one of the cutest little girls I have ever seen and I just want to pinch her cheeks!!

Now, I know this movie is based off of the book by Henry James, published way back in 1897 (I may do a review of the book eventually if I can get my hands on a copy). But I really liked how the directors of this film, Scott McGehee and David Siegel, modernized this story into something more relatable and easier to empathize with.

I really loved this movie, because the ending makes me cry every time (in a good way). I highly recommend it to anyone who loves drama or romance.

~Sofia

One thought on “What Maisie Knew ~Movie Review~

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

