Tiger Lily (Review)

  • Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

    • Rating: 10/10!!! (I am honestly in love)
    • Genre: Fantasy, Romance
    • Pages: around 292
    • Topics: Love, Magic, Family,

 R E V I E W: 

((I’m writing this review two years after actually reading the book itself. Please pardon the fact that this review isn’t very in depth, I just really wanted to shove this book into people’s faces so that they can read this book in all its beauty))

HOOOOOLY MOLY. This is officially one of my favorites books. ever. of all time. not even kidding. I am actually in love with this book. The story takes place in Neverland (Peter Pan’s realm) but it’s from Tiger Lily’s point of view, and it takes place before the Darling children come to Neverland, which I found to be a very interesting concept.

Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair

When I first discovered this book I was so shocked that a book like this even existed, because I for one LOVE Peter Pan. It’s one of my favorite stories and when I saw this book in the library I just thought Oh hell YES. I already had a feeling that this book wasn’t going to be the cutesy happy version like the Disney adaptation. Actually, the mood of the novel was similar to that of the original Peter Pan, and I actually preferred this as well, being a late teen.

If you haven’t already guessed, the story is basically about Tiger Lily and Peter Pan. The story basically makes Wendy look like the home-wrecker, which in a way she TOTALLY was (in this version of the story). There was also a lot more violence than I expected, but again, it was something that I found to be intriguing. Now, Tiger Lily being portrayed as a Native, the author tries to tie in the culture of her tribe as well as hints of white supremacy and cultural appropriation into this fantasy world. As a matter of fact, these concepts were my favorite part of the book. Anderson makes them a very prominent part of the novel that affects the way Tiger Lily makes her decisions and even affects her relationship with Peter.

I knew I’d miss you. But the surprising thing is, you never leave me. I never forget a thing. Every kind of love, it seems, is the only one. It doesn’t happen twice. And I never expected that you could have a broken heart and love with it too, so much that it doesn’t seem broken at all.

Of course, there’s more to the story then just Tiger Lily and Peter Pan. This novel isn’t just a romance. It’s also about learning to accept yourself for who you are and being comfortable in your own skin. When Tiger Lily meets the Lost Boys, there’s a bit of a culture shock that occurs between both sides. It takes a while for everyone to get used to each other and become friends, but I still absolutely loved the development of the characters and watching them learn to accept each other for who they are.

As they grew sloppier and less alert, the twins argued too loudly about whether Tiger Lily was ugly or beautiful, and finally agreed that she was “ugly beautiful.”
Tiger Lily pretended she hadn’t heard, but her heart slowed to absorb the blow.

Overall, I really really really loved reading this book, and I know I definitely will read it again soon! I honestly cried and smiled at the way the book ended, and I think the ending was such a great way to wrap up all the concepts of culture shock and self-acceptance. This book is beautifully written, and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves fantasy, romance, or even Disney! I promise you won’t regret it 🙂

~Sofia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

