The Hamilton Mixtape

By reading the title of this post, you already know what this post is about, and if you’re into musical theatre you probably just jumped. Honestly, if you’re into musicals and don’t love and appreciate Hamilton…..,,, who are you? So the mixtape has been out for a while now, and I still have it on repeat. It’s…just…so… good. Lin-Manuel Miranda is a genius and I have no clue how he does it. The original soundtrack was something that I never got tired of listening to, and from the looks of it many others agree with me. It’s been a couple of years since the musical first appeared on Broadway and the hype is still wayyy up there (and it should be). The album is still on the iTunes charts!! Anyways, I frickin love the mixtape. It combines good theatrical music with modern pop culture artists and I think the artists on the mixtape do an amazing job capturing the moment the music was meant for. I’d say my favorite song on the mixtape is probably “Dear Theodosia” (and the harmonies in the reprise.. don’t even get me started). It’s just SO PRETTY. Honestly, the original was just as good but idk this cover just makes me feel some type of way ya know? Anyways, if you haven’t heard of Hamilton or listened to the mixtape PLEASE PLEASE PLEEEASE go listen, I guarantee you will love at least one song off of this brilliant soundtrack! If you have heard the mixtape, what’s your favorite song?

Image result for hamilton

~Sofia

P.S.

I heard the new musical Dear Evan Hansen has amazing music. I’ve only heard “Waving Through a Window” and I think the rest of the cast recording is going to be absolutely incredible. I may or may not do another random post on this musical’s music               ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

**photograph by Travis Wise on Flickr**
3 thoughts on “The Hamilton Mixtape

Add yours

  1. I am a big fan of musical and Hamilton has been a musical I have ignored for some time. Thats all due to hip-hop and rap music, a genre that never sounded like music.

    Have listened to some of the songs and still don’t see where all the hype. The rap and hip-hop songs are throwing me off a bit.

    Like

    1. I see what you mean! But I think that incorporating a different genre within the musical was definitely a bold move to attract audiences who maybe aren’t such huge fans of music theatre! But I completely understand where you’re coming from. I just think the concept behind Hamilton’s music is very unique and cool! 🙂

      Like

  2. I feel like that is where all the hype is, which is the rap and hip-hop world. Still don’t see how that type of music belongs in musicals. True, it has the requirement of song that a musical needs. I am constantly being recommended to give Hamilton a shot and it is getting kind of annoying. Just because you are a massive musical fan does not mean that all musicals should interest you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

