December 2016

Image result for the metamorphosis by franz kafka

  • The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka

    • Rating: 9/10
    • Genre: Magical Realism
    • Pages: around 60 (!!)
    • Topics: Family, Internal Conflict, Tragedy
    • Summary: Gregor Samsa is a very ordinary person. He wakes up, goes to work, comes home, sleeps, repeats. One day, Samsa wakes up as a bug. This novel tells a story of how Samsa deals with being a part of a different species, as well as how his new body affects the relationship he has with his family as well as society.

R E V I E W:

When I first opened this book, I had no expectations. So when I read that the main character turns into a bug-like creature in the first sentence, I decided to put the book down (LOL). Eventually, I became curious and decided to finish the rest of the book. I feel like starting off a story with such a bizarre notion was quite bold of Kafka. I think the symbolism is what makes this book so great (I’m not going to spoil anything so I’m just going to leave it at that). Reading The Metamorphosis was really interesting because the book is written in the perspective of a bug, and it’s super weird to read about the changes Gregor Samsa, the main character, has to go through to adapt to his new body.

One morning, upon awakening from agitated dreams, Gregor Samsa found himself, in his bed, transformed into a monstrous vermin

What’s also quite peculiar is that the book never talks about how or why Samsa turned into a bug. I actually didn’t find this aggravating or annoying. I think it’s pretty cool how Kafka leaves it up to the reader to interpret Samsa’s predicament. Reading this story got me thinking: “How the hell did Kafka come up with this?” I know a lot of times many authors find inspirations for their work from society or often times from themselves and their own life. I think for Kafka, I definitely think his historical and biographical background had an influence on this tragic and messed up book. I mean, I suppose it’s always possible for him to just see a bug on the floor and find inspiration to write his book like that, but doing research on Kafka (this poor guy…I feel so bad for him) it’s hard to say that seeing a bug on the floor was the case. Anyways, I highly encourage anyone who likes weird and creepy stuff to read The Metamorphosis. It’s a super short book that you can probably knock out in a day if you wanted to! As always, let me know if you want me to read any books, because I am always desperate for a good book. 🙂

 

~Sofia

P.S.

I really hate myself for posting this so late. I realize we are half way into January but I was just so busy so please forgive me ((Happy 2017))!! I promise to include more lit and interesting books for you guys!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

