Showtunes I’m Listening To

It is currently 1:30 AM and I am literally blasting show tunes in my room despite the disapproving comments I am getting from my family who is trying to sleep!! The idea of writing this post came spontaneously, while I was listening to the Broadway cast recording of “Aladdin.” I decided to create a post and list some show tunes I’ve been listening to recently that I ALWAYS find stuck in my head. Some of these songs are old, some of them are sort of new(ish). Even if you aren’t into musicals, you’ll be surprised to see how a lot of these songs incorporate different genres of music that you listen to on a daily a basis!

  • “Friend Like Me” (ALADDIN on Broadway)
  • “Esmeralda” (The Hunchback of Notre Dame Musical)
  • “To Thine Own Self” (Something Rotten)
  • “Take Me or Leave Me” (RENT)
  • “One More Day” (Les Misérables)
  • “Home” (Beauty and the Beast Broadway)
  • “God Help the Outcast”(The Hunchback of Notre Dame Musical)
  • “Hello” (The Book of Mormon)
  • “Tango: Maureen” (RENT)
  • “Good Morning Baltimore” (Hairspray)
  • “Genie Medley” (ALADDIN on Broadway)
  • “Beautiful” (Heathers the Musical)
  • “Think of Me” (Phantom of the Opera)
  • “Finale B” (RENT)
  • “Elephant Love Medley” (Moulin Rouge!)
  • “They Live in You” (The Lion King on Broadway)
  • “Entr’acte” (The Hunchback of Notre Dame Musical)
  • “Ladies’ Choice” (Hairspray)
  • “On My Own” (Les Misérables)
  • “Angel of Music” (Phantom of the Opera)
  • “Non-Stop” (Hamilton)
  • “Someday” (The Hunchback of Notre Dame Musical)
  • “A Whole New World” (ALADDIN on Broadway)
  • “Candy Store” (Heathers the Musical)
  • “My Shot” (Hamilton)
  • “Out There” (The Hunchback of Notre Dame Musical)
  • “Another Day” (RENT)
  • “God, I Hate Shakespeare” (Something Rotten)
  • “There! Right There!” (Legally Blonde the Musical)
  • “Do You Hear the People Sing?” (Les Misérables)
  • “You Can’t Stop the Beat” (Hairspray)
  • “Rhythm of the Tambourine” (The Hunchback of Notre Dame Musical)

As you can clearly tell, I am currently in my “Hunchback of Notre Dame” phase, and I have been for like a solid 7 months (LMAO no regrets though). You will also notice that a lot of these songs are from the same musical, this is due to a helpful tip: if you like a song from one musical, odds are you will probably enjoy the rest of the soundtrack from that musical. All these shows have fantastic music, and just because I haven’t listed a certain song or musical, doesn’t mean I hate it or don’t appreciate it. There are SO MANY amazing show tunes out there, and it’s impossible for me to make one playlist with all the flawless music from all the shows out there. I hope you guys listen and like at least one of these songs!

~Sofia

4 thoughts on “Showtunes I’m Listening To

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

