September 2016

Image result for i'll give you the sun

  • I’ll Give You The Sun, by Jandy Nelson

    • Rating:  10/10 (please read this book I am begging you)
    • Genre: Romance (Young Adult)
    • Pages: around 370
    • Topics: Art, Romance, Tragedy (may contain some triggering themes)
    • Summary:
      • “Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways…until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else-an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

R E V I E W:

 AKSHDFKJHDF holy shit. Okay, this novel is definitely one of my favorites. Ever. It’s deep and metaphorical content can make any teenager relate to Noah and Jude in some type of way. You see, most of the characters, including Noah and Jude, are struggling to either find themselves or accept themselves, something almost every teen can understand. Each character in IGYTS has a very distinct personality and backstory that develops throughout the novel and brings the plot together. There’s this one character, Oscar, that I completely fell head over heels for because he is just so.,,.. damn….,,, smooth…(UGH I’m honestly still not over him and I don’t think I ever will be).

No hot guy should be allowed to have an English accent and drive a motorcycle. Not to mention wear the leather jacket or sport the cool shades. Hot guys should be forced into footie pajamas.

Another component of this novel that I really enjoyed was its humor. I am not ashamed to say that I actually laughed out loud while reading this book. Noah Sweetwine is so funny and his insults are just amazing. Most of his humor is projected towards insulting his bullies and people who tend to tick him off. I think Noah is definitely my favorite character (along with Oscar because how can you not love Oscar!!). In the beginning of the novel, the reader can automatically tell that Noah is a very conflicted kid. It’s amazing to watch/read Noah grow up and see how parts of his character change and stay the same. I like to consider Noah as my grumpy little talented son (honestly). And then there’s Jude, who is LITERALLY me. Jude believes in the supernatural and firmly believes in the Bible. Jude can be viewed as the typical teenager: having arguments with her mother and sibling, having to deal with love, having to figure out her image as a teenager, and having to get over deaths in her family. Quite quickly into the first few pages, you can tell that Noah and Jude are two very different beings with totally different personalities despite being twins. These different personalities eventually cause them to drift apart as they grow older.

“You know how the scent used to walk into the room before she did?” Mom breathes in dramatically as if the kitchen’s filling with Grandma’s thick flowery smell. I breathe in dramatically. Jude breathes in dramatically. Everyone in California, the United States, on Earth, breathes in dramatically.

However, it did take me awhile to get into, because the plot seemed to be moving slowly in the beginning, and the narration between Noah and Jude was slightly confusing for me. BUT, I did eventually get addicted and the narration became easier to follow! Jandy Nelson does a FLAWLESS job of incorporating art and creativity into this book. She nails everything about what being an artist is about and demonstrates is through a story of two broken siblings. This novel honestly gave me a whole new perspective towards an artist’s life and how the mind of an artist truly works. Plus for me personally, I frickin love art. So I found this novel to be really inspiring and relatable. 

We wish with our hands, that’s what we do as artists.

The insight that Nelson provides on the idea of expressing oneself through art is shown through these two very different characters, Noah and Jude. I found myself obsessed and truly absorbed in this book because of how well Nelson incorporated all these elements of love, art, family, and life. I highly hiGHLY HIGHLY recommend this novel to anyone who loves Rainbow Rowell or John Green’s novels or just loves teen romance stories. I know I will definitely be rereading this book every once in a while!

It’s never occured to me that the stars are still up there shining even in the daytime when we can’t see them.

~Sofia

**Summary found inside of book cover. All rights go to Jandy Nelson  ©2016 Jandy Nelson. Penguin Young Readers Group.**
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

